Jump to main content

Cordula Hacke

Adjunct Professor

Professor II Chamber Music

K3009 ( Universitetsveien 25, Kristiansand )

Following her orchestral career, the studied pianist and flutist Cordula Hacke is a successful and sought-after chamber music piano partner with an extremely extensive knowledge of the repertoire. She is also professor of Chamber Music and Collaborative Piano at the University of Agder (Norway), lecturer, jury member of international competitions and musical director of various musical, operetta and theater productions.

Her chamber music partners include principal wind and string players from some of the world’s greatest orchestras, including the New York Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the German Radio Symphony Orchestras (Berlin, Frankfurt, Freiburg, Cologne and Stuttgart), the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Royal Danish Opera Orchestra and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and in 2016 she founded the Trio Art Nouveau, a piano trio dedicated to the music of the Fin de Siècle. 

Her extensive discography ranges from the works of contemporary Japanese and women composers to those of artists such as Pavel Haas, Leo Smit, and Paul Hindemith. Having worked closely with American composer George Crumb for many years, Cordula Hacke has been invited to perform his works in prestigious festivals in Germany, Austria, Denmark, Canada and the USA. Her recording of Crumb's Vox Balaenae was released by Arte Nova-BMG Classics. 

She has collaborated with Jeanne Baxtresser, former principal flutist of the New York Philharmonic, in presenting acclaimed masterclasses in centres such as Frankfurt, Oxford, Toronto, New York, Pittsburgh and Amsterdam. She taught annually at the Salzburg Summer Academy and has served as official piano partner for the ARD International Music Competition (Munich), the Deutsche Musikrat Competition (Berlin), the Aeolus Competition, the Nicolet Competition and the International Guangzhou Competition (China).

Prof. Hacke was a member of the teaching faculty at the Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf (2000-2013) and serves on several juries of international competitions, and she is chair woman of the jury at the Internationaler Flötenwettbewerb Friedrich Kuhlau, Uelzen.

In August 2017 Cordula Hacke was appointed professor of Chamber Music and Collaborative Piano at the University of Agder, Faculty of Fine Arts, in Kristiansand (Norway). 

In 2018 she was invited to Korea to give a series of masterclasses on collaborative piano and chamber music at Seoul National University, Sung Shin University and Yonsei University.  Masterclasses in the near future include institutions in Moscow (Gnessin School), Lyon (CSNMD) Boston (NEC) and Jerusalem.

Acclaimed for her work as musical director in theatre, her productions include My Fair LadyAcht FrauenIrma la DouceKleiner Mann, was nun?, La Cage aux Folles (own new arrangement),Fisch zu viertSingin’ in the rainEvitaSunset BoulevardDie Fledermaus – leicht gekürzt (a pocket version of the famous operetta) and Heisse Zeiten.

The highly successful show Spatz und Engel (The Angel and the Sparrow) - the story of the friendship between Marlene Dietrich and Edith Piaf, will go on tour through Europe in 2021 and again in 2023.  This Frankfurt production was a collaboration with the author and director Daniel Große Boymann.

Photo Copyright: Monika Werneke

Courses and teaching

Chamber Music and Collaborative piano

Work experience

As Pianist and Musical Director in concert venues, theatres, festivals:

  • Chamber Music in diverse ensembles
  • Collaborative Piano
  • Lieder/Opera/Chanson
  • Audition, Competition and Solo Repertoire


  • Continuing UiA's participation within the Cultural Programme of  Norway as Guest Country of Honour at the Buchmesse Frankfurt for the upcoming years
  • Coordinating UiA's partnership with the European Chamber Academy in Leipzig 2021

Selected publications

  • Claude Debussy, New arrangement of the Sonata for Flute and Piano (org. Violin and Piano), Zimmermann Musikverlag
  • Raoul Laparra, New Edition of the Suite for Flute and Piano, Edition Kossack
  • La Cage aux Folles, New Arrangement for 4 instruments, Gallissas Theaterverlag Berlin

Last changed: 30.07.2021 18:07